My 2016 Reading Statistics

 photo 2016readingstatsblogbanner_zpslla6hqxa.jpg

2016 has come to an end, and so has another year of reading. Last year I started recording my reading in an Excel sheet with the intent of crunching the data at the end of the year and then converting that data into visual representations of what a year of my reading looks like, especially when compared over the course of a number of years. However, I started the 2015 chart somewhat late in the year, so my 2016 results will be the baseline for all subsequent reading data comparisons.

Below is a set of pie charts representing one year’s worth of my own reading.

 photo booksreadvsbookssetaside_zpsuot0qeko.png

Sometimes I decide to set aside books instead of finishing them. My reasons for doing so are varied, but more often than not it’s because I lost interest in the book, or I just wasn’t in the mood for it. As long as the books I do finish far outnumber the books I set aside – as they did last year – I think I can say that all is well.

 photo femalevsmaleauthors_zpsxpnfzls2.png

This is rather interesting. I didn’t make it a goal to read more female authors than male this year, but it appears that I have. Not in an overwhelming number, certainly, but enough for it to be noticeable, if this chart is any indication.

 photo fictionvsnonfiction_zps9lw67eyy.png

I tend to lean very heavily towards fiction, and I don’t think I’m entirely happy about that. I think I should try to read more nonfiction this year. Fortunately, my backlist is aswim with them, so I should have no problems at all evening the numbers out this year.

 photo seriesvsstandalone_zpsyaafgcfj.png

I’m not entirely surprised that I read far more series last year than standalones, though I did try to make an effort to read more of the latter. I guess I’ll just have to try harder – although that might be difficult, given how many new books to associated series are coming out this year.

 photo newreadvsreread_zpsjgcuvzn9.png

Now this is a set of data I can feel quite happy with. While there is absolutely nothing wrong with rereading old favourites, I think it’s much better to read something I haven’t read before. I think the ratio shown in this chart is a good sign, and hopefully I’ll be able to keep it up this year.

 photo genresread_zpswvjzjclp.png

This is rather surprising. Usually fantasy trumps almost every other genre in my reading statistics, but last year I read a lot more historical fiction. Nothing wrong with that, of course, it’s just not what I was expecting. Also I read a lot more manga last year than I recall reading in 2015, which I will take as a good sign. It’s been a while since I was into any manga, and it’s nice to see that I’m going back to it.

 photo starrratings_zps5dtc7dkv.png

If there is any true indication of how good 2016 was to me as a year for reading, I think it’s this particular chart. It makes clear that I enjoyed a majority of the books I read last year, which either means that I’ve gotten very good at choosing books that I think I’ll like, or I was just exceptionally lucky in the choices I made. Whatever the case, I hope this continues on into 2017.

4 thoughts on “My 2016 Reading Statistics

    1. Most of the work only happens at the end of the year when you tally up the numbers, and even then Excel makes it mostly a breeze to do (if you don’t mind wrangling a bit with functions ^^;). The rest of the year is really just light inputting, especially once you’ve decided on which metrics you want to really look at and create your spreadsheet for it :D. I highly recommend doing this on Google Sheets for anywhere, anytime access – it’ll also help you make the charts at the end of the year. Most of mine were made there, except for the “Genres Read ” one because Excel is just better at displaying multiple pie slices than Google Sheets ^^;.

Leave a Reply

